Let It Go! Let It Go!

This post was written by BLC Guest Blogger, Rob Quinn

images

Welcome Spring; a time of renewal. The season of new growth and the signs of change are all around us. This is a perfect time to pause, reassess your life, and make changes that are more appropriate and satisfactory for where you are right now. Stuff has a way of creeping into our life, and before you know it, it starts to take over.

As a long-term survivor not only living with HIV/AIDS but also thriving, I choose living a minimalist life of decluttered simplicity. For me, clutter affects my ability to focus, process information, and be productive. A happier, freer, more peaceful life promotes optimal health outcomes. Now that Spring has sprung, it’s time for Spring cleaning. Time for taking action to clear more space–physically, emotionally and spiritually.

Decluttering is a lifelong practice, one that we can repeat when needed. Decluttering, simplifying, simple living, minimalism–whatever you wish to call it–has health benefits. Clearing clutter provides me more clarity and focus. Less is more equals less physical and emotional stress. Opening up space affords me an opportunity to reach my full potential and thrive in a meaningful, productive, independent, and connected life.

There are countless online resources, self-help books and more on decluttering. Decluttering in four steps, five steps, ten steps, forty steps and more. However, living a minimalist life, I find that keeping decluttering simplified leads to successful outcomes. I ask myself a few basic questions, “What’s cluttering my life, why am I keeping it, and what parts of my life seem out of control? Is this stuff bringing me closer to my goal of optimal health and happiness or further away?” If the answer is the latter, then as Elsa says, “Let it go, let it go!”

Prior to March 9, 2016, at the end of each day I would ask myself, “Why I am up at night, tossing and turning, my mind racing?” Maybe it’s aging, wisdom, having had an implantable cardioverter defibrillator performed on March 9, 2016 due to HIV-associated cardiomyopathy, or a combination thereof, but today I have zero tolerance for any negative energy in my life. Person, place or thing. In the past, I can assure you that the source of my sleeplessness was most likely getting a restful night’s sleep, not being awake thinking of myself. Now, cue Elsa, “Let it go, let it go!”

At the end of the day, the only person I can be accountable for is me. Now each morning I ask myself, “What stuff deserves my time, my focus and my attention?” The answer, “The stuff that I am responsible for, can control, and can do something about.” And NOT the stuff that I am not responsible for, don’t control, or can do very little about.

Note to self: Remember, today is your day to let go of stuff that no longer serves you. Let it go, let it go!

Leave a Reply

